Donald Sager



Term Expires: December 31, 2020

Donald Adamczyk


Term Expires: December 31, 2017

Kay Taylor



Term Expires: December 31, 2020

Glen A. Phillips

Commission Member/Township Board Representative


Term Expires: With Trustee Term

Phillips Macumber

Commission Member

Term Expires: December 31, 2018

Fred Abel

Commission Member

Term Expires: December 31, 2018

Nathan Hager

Commission Member

Term Expires: December 31, 2017

Please reload

Planning Commission

Planning Commission meetings are posted on the calendar located on the HOME page. 
The Planning Commission meets up to six times a year or when called upon by Special Meeting. 

Authorities and Responsibilities: 

  • Shall make and adopt a basic plan as a guide for the development of the unincorporated portions of the township.

  • Shall approve/deny construction, location and character of streets, squares, parks or other public ways, grounds or open space, or public buildings and structures.

  • Capital improvements planning

The township board may designate the powers of a zoning board to a planning commission, including making recommendations as to a zoning plan, districts and ordinance, and, per the township's ordinance, approving special land uses, planned unit developments and site plans.

Established By:
The township board of any township may create, by ordinance, a township planning commission with power to make, adopt, extend, add to or otherwise amend, and to carry out plans for the unincorporated portions of the township as provided in this act. Click here for sample planning commission ordinances.

5, 7 or 9 members, who must be representative of important segments of the community, such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the local unit of government, in accordance with the major interests as they exist in the local unit of government, such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry, and commerce. The membership must also be representative of the entire geography of the local unit of government to the extent practicable.

Members of a planning commission must be qualified electors of the township, except one planning commission member may be individual who is not a qualified elector. (To be a qualified elector, a person must be 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen, and have lived in the township at least 30 days. Property ownership is NOT required).

One member of the township board shall be an ex officio member of the planning commission.

All members of the planning commission shall be appointed by the township supervisor with the approval of the township board, for a term of 3 years, with the exception of the ex officio member, whose term expires with his or her term on the township board.

Compensation to Members: 
Members of the planning commission may be compensated for their services as provided by the township board. 

© 2020 Marlette Township. Al rights reserved.   6725 Airport Road  Marlette, Michigan  48453  Office: (989) 635-7772   Fax: (989) 635-3595

Township Governmentm